Usage of information
When you register, Distributed Proofreaders will send a confirmation/introduction message to your e-mail address. You may also receive optional e-mail alerts from our discussion forums and occasional notifications and feedback related to your proofreading activities. Distributed Proofreaders will also invite you by e-mail to vote in periodic Board Trustee elections and could contact you for site-related purposes authorized by Distributed Proofreaders management. Access to your information
Only the Distributed Proofreaders site administrators will have access to the Real Name you provide. If, in your forum profile, you do not opt to make your e-mail address accessible to all volunteers, it will be accessible only to our site administrators.
During the various production phases, your User Name and your Distributed Proofreaders work may be viewable by other volunteers. In addition, volunteers delegated to an evaluation or mentoring role will be able to review the work performed under your User Name.
Your User Name and any public information you provide in your forum profile will be accessible to other Distributed Proofreaders volunteers and to unregistered viewers. Your posts on our discussion forums will be viewable by other volunteers. Certain clearly-designated forums are also viewable by unregistered guests to the forums. Your user name and any information you post on the wiki are visible to both volunteers and unregistered viewers.
Volunteers may opt not to display their Real or User Name in the credits of a publication while it is being worked on at Distributed Proofreaders and when it is distributed through Project Gutenberg or other publication channels.
Distributed Proofreaders tracks your User Name, the date your account was created and your last login date. This tracking information will be available to other volunteers. Distributed Proofreaders automatically receives and records information from your computer and browser, including your IP address. This is accessible to our administrative staff only.
The system also tracks the number of pages you have completed, your best day ever, team memberships, proofreading roles, and the highest rank you've achieved. In your Distributed Proofreaders site profile, you can control whether this information is viewable by everyone, registered users only, or yourself only.
Distributed Proofreaders never makes commercial use of information entered on or for its website. It does not share volunteer information other than as indicated above.
The same policy applies to information collected at this wiki.
Last edited: 30/01/2016